Saturday, July 10, 2010

Controversial Refereeing Decisions in World Cup 2010

June 18

Miroslav Klose, Germany 0-1 Serbia (Group D)
Red Card

The 2010 tournament has blighted by rather dubious dismissals, with the red cards shown to Valon Behrami (Switzerland v Chile), Yoann Gourcuff (France v South Africa) and Kaka (Brazil v Ivory Coast) all falling into the debateable category.

But the two yellow cards brandished to a bemused Klose by the over-officious Alberto Undiano risked dragging football closer to becoming a non-contact sport. The first was ruthlessly flaunted by the Spanish man in the middle for a simple coming together between the German goal-getter and Branislav Ivanovic, and while worthy of a free kick was his first offence of the match. The second verged on the preposterous; a legitimate attempt for the ball saw Dejan Stankovic tripped, but hardly in tears. Undiano wasted no time in issuing a second booking in the space of 37 minutes, and an inauspicious tone had been set.

June 18

Maurice Edu, Slovenia 2-2 United States, (Group C)
Disallowed goal

The Stars and Stripes had fought back from two goals down to draw level with a Slovenia side that had looked to be in a position of dominance, but were clinging on amidst a late onslaught led by American hero Landon Donovan. Moments after Michael Bradley had equalised, Edu burst into the box to volley the ball into the net from close range, only for Malian whistler Koman Coulibaly to disallow the goal for an alleged infringement.

The USA were incensed, and replays appeared to legitimise their claims of innocence. Coulibaly was sent home without taking control of another match, amidst international condemnation of his error.

June 20

Shane Smeltz, Italy 1-1 New Zealand, (Group F)
Offside goal

The Azzurri were overwhelming favourites to take care of their inexperienced and inferior opponents, but the All Whites sprung one of the surprises of the tournament, holding out for a 1-1 draw. There was more than a hint of offside, though, about Smeltz's opening goal which rocked the world champions.

Simon Elliot's free-kick appeared to glance off the forehead of Winston Reid, finding an unmarked Smeltz a yard ahead of play. The flag stayed down, New Zealand celebrated - and Italy were indirectly eliminated as a result of a borderline, but ultimately incorrect, piece of officiating.

June 20

Luis Fabiano, Brazil 3-1 Ivory Coast, (Group G)

Ever since Diego’s infamous ‘Hand of God’ the World Cup finals and contentious handballs have been inseparable. Torsten Frings’ juggling act on the goal line in Germany’s win over USA in 2002 springs to mind, while now Luis Suarez’s wonder save is likely to join Maradona in every World Cup countdown conceived from now until oblivion. But Brazilian forward Luis Fabiano managed the impressive feat of using his hand (and arm) not once, but twice in the same attack before netting the second of his two goals versus the Elephants.

His initial control of a long through pass caught his forearm, before using the same limb to neatly knock a difficult bouncing ball into his path and volleying home. The referee afterwards seemed to ask the Sevilla striker if he had used his hand – to which Fabiano simply let out a burst of laughter and jogged back to the half-way line.

June 27 

Frank Lampard, Germany 4-1 England; (Round of 16)
Phantom goal

Lampard's phantom 'goal' is arguably the moment that this World Cup is likely to be remembered for most, based on the ramifications it may have for football in general, as a brave new world of technological innovation attempts to eradicate such glaring errors. With England looking to strike back against a German side that had dominated the majority of the half, Lampard lobs the ball neatly over the head of the despairing dive of Manuel Neuer, only for the ball to glance off the underside of the crossbar, and land three miles over the goal-line.

Neuer is almost in the net when he attempts to claw the ball to safety, but realises upon reaching his feet that play is to continue. He sheepishly blasts the ball upfield before the referee can change his decision. Cue a karma-covered 1966 repeat, Germany enjoy a comfortable 4-1 success, and an incident that renders decision-making in football Draconian when compared to the likes of tennis and cricket.

June 27

Carlos Tevez, Argentina 3-1 Mexico, (Round of 16)
Offside goal

Mere hours after the Lampard debacle, Stefano Ayroldi attempted to take some of the heat from his companion by overseeing an equally unforgivable decision as Argentina faced Mexico. Throughout the tournament assistant referees, in the main, called the more ambiguous offside calls correctly, and in favour of the attacker. However, when Argentina’s talisman Lionel Messi flicks the ball forward into the path of Tevez, in a match that was closely contested until this point, the Manchester City forward is so far offside there is clear daylight between him and the goal.

It appeared a straightforward call but, bafflingly, the assistant's decision is to keep his flag by his side, ensuring an Aztec backlash that threatened to boil over into a half-time brawl. Tevez wheels away in delight, while Stefano Ayroldi was surrounded by a posse of bamboozled Mexicans. To compound their misery, Tevez later rockets a stunning twenty-five yard strike into the top corner of the net, and the Albicelestes win 3-1.

July 3 

Xabi Alonso, Spain 1-0 Paraguay, (Quarter Finals)
Penalty re-taken

The ludicrous inconsistencies of the encroachment rule when penalty kicks are being taken have never been better highlighted than by referee Carlos Batres during this quarter-final clash. La Albirroja are underdogs, but are denied the opportunity to take the lead when Iker Casillas outfoxes Oscar Cardozo, parrying his spot-kick to safety. Spain within minutes are awarded a penalty of their own, one which Xabi Alonso duly converts.

However, Batres demands a retake as a trio of Alonso's team-mates drift inches over the 18-yards line. As fate would have it, Alonso's retake is brilliantly saved by Paraguayan shot-stopper Justo Villar. Spain eventually go on to win the match, but subsequent replays show a mass of bodies inside the area when Caradozo had struck the Paraguayan kick earlier in the contest. On what grounds should Alonso's penalty be retaken, and yet not Cardozo's?

1 comment:

  1. If you copy and paste from ESPN ,you should give credits to your source.
    All your articles are copied and pasted from ESPN official site.
    Why do you dolike this?